New Years Resolution

I’m not a big fan of New Years resolutions.  Mainly because it feels like everyone makes them, then feels down on themselves when they aren’t kept.  However, I did decide to make a few resolutions this year… 1) to not be afraid of failure.  Kind of goes in line with people getting upset when their resolutions aren’t kept… I’m going to resolve to make goals, aim high, but then not be upset if said goals have to change or just can’t be kept.  This past week reminded me why it’s impossible to hang steadfast onto plans, especially with kids.  My husband finally had time off to spend with the family, and both kids get sick.  Addy is a champ, she unfortunately was sick a lot as a toddler and doesn’t whine about it.  In fact, you wouldn’t know she was sick outside of the red, raw nose.  Declan on the other hand… WOW.  Only the second time he’s been sick and he wanted to make sure the entire world knew about it.  5 nights later, two parents surviving on only a few hours of sleep a night, and my husband was more than ready to go back in the office.  Oh well, maybe next year we’ll be able to do all those family outings we discussed for this year 🙂

This about sums up our week:

6O5A3430 copy

My second resolution:  Commit to taking a picture a day, for a photography 365 day challenge.  This has been my goal for several years, but no more excuses for me!  I have extra batteries, memory cards, and a fab husband who has upgraded our computer with so much storage that I need to fill 😉

Even through the runny noses, my kids have enjoyed their Christmas presents.  Thank you to all our family who have been so generous to my kiddos.  They are learning to be generous through you!

6O5A3427 copy

6O5A3426 copy

And happy new year to everyone!  We are praying that peace, joy, and love fill your homes in 2013.

Leave a comment